Go to section:

Zorka Wollny - Ophelias. Iconography of Madness

Zorka Wollny - Ophelias. Iconography of Madness / performance
Iwona Bielska, Monika Dąbrowska, Ewa Domańska, Gabriela Frycz, Anna Ilczuk, Krystyna Łubieńska, Marta Kalmus-Jankowska, Karolina Porcari, Agnieszka Radzikowska, Małgorzata Rudzka, Bożena Stryjkówna

Terms: 9th September 2012 (Sunday), 6.00 pm., 7.30 pm.

In one place, at the same time eleven Ophelias will meet, eleven ways of  experiencing and playing the role, eleven actor performances. In the empty space of Muzeum Sztuki eleven actresses who have played the role of Ophelia in theatre productions of Shakespeare’s Hamlet will perform the final scene of madness. The joint appearance of the actresses, arranged by Zorka Wollny, will be a performance in which different interpretations of the classic dramatic role will create an image f female madness.

Ophelias. Iconography of Madness  will be an event on the edge of theatre and visual arts. The heroines of the performance are the actresses who, by accepting Zorka Wollny’s invitation, decided to participate in the transformation of the role they had played before. Their appearance in the performance will be the result of their joint work with the artist. The main element of the process is recollecting the role, activating body memory and consciousness and, simultaneously, reflecting on the actresses’ own relation to that which Ophelia personifies and to that which playing the part is in itself. The actresses participating in the performance will not only play the role but also share their experience of the part with the audience.

Curator: Jarosław Lubiak
Coordination: Sonia Nieśpiałowska-Owczarek

Productions of Hamlet, featuring the participants of the performance:

Iwona Bielska ― dir. Jerzy Krasowski, the Juliusz Słowacki Theatre, Cracow, 1978;
Monika Dąbrowska ― dir. Jolanta Donejko and Piotr Borowski, Theatre Studium, Warsaw, 2005;
Ewa Domańska ― dir. Jan Englert, Polish TV Theatre, 1985;
Gabriela Frycz ― dor. Waldemar Śmigasiewicz, Nowy Theatre, Poznań, 2007;
Anna Ilczuk ― dir. Monika Pęcikiewicz, Polski Theatre, Wrocław, 2008;
Marta Kalmus-Jankowska ― dir. Krzysztof Nazar, Wybrzeże Theatre, Gdańsk, 1996;
dir. Jan Klata, Wybrzeże Theatre, Gdańsk, 2004;
Krystyna Łubieńska ― dir. Andrzej Wajda, Wybrzeże Theatre, Gdańsk, 1960;
Karolina Porcari ― dir. Radosław Rychcik, the Stefan Żeromski Theatre, Katowice, 2011;
Agnieszka Radzikowska ― dir. Attila Keresztes, the Stanisław Wyspiański Theatre of Silesia, Katowice, 2012;
Małgorzata Rudzka ― dir. Andrzej Domalik, Dramatyczny Theatre, Warsaw, 1992;
Bożena Stryjkówna ― dir. Jan Machulski, Ochoty Theatre, Warsaw, 1985.




Pursuant to Art. 173 of the Act of Telecommunications Law we would like to inform you that by continuing to browse this webpage you agree to save on your computer the so-called cookies. Cookies enable us to store information on the webpage viewership. If you do not give your consent to saving them, change the settings of your browser. More about the privacy policy.

Logotypy UE