Go to section:

Katarzyna Kobro Award 2018 for Cecylia Malik

On Friday, November 22, for the 17th time, the Katarzyna Kobro Award ceremony took place. The award given by artists is to distinguish and honor the attitudes of progressive and innovative artists. The laureate of 2018 was Cecylia Malik.

The jury composed of: Daniel Rycharski (chairman), Paweł Bownik, Elżbieta Jabłońska, and Joanna Rajkowska, have appreciated the winner for:

"Activities that go beyond the walls of galleries and museums, effectively reaching out for the communities involved in caring for their immediate surroundings.

Creating, rebuilding and nurturing relations with the Earth and its ecosystems.

Boldly moving beyond the area of art towards activism dedicated to fulfilling the needs of all living beings.

Uniting people around a common goal whilst using artistic practices to make ecological problems public".


Cecylia Malik (born 1975) - visual artist, performer, painter and activist. She studied at the Faculty of Painting of the Jan Matejko Academy of Fine Arts in Krakow (diploma  with Leszek Misiak) and at Postgraduate Curatorial Studies at the Jagiellonian University. Co-creator of "Art Farms" - an artistic institution that is a joint platform for artists and curators. Author / initiator of famous performative projects, such as: "365 Trees", " The Plaits of Białka River", "Mother Poland Deforested", "Sisters of the River".


The Katarzyna Kobro Award

Previous laureates of Katarzyna Kobro Award:  

2001 - Zbigniew Dłubak

2002 - Jürgen Blum-Kwiatkowski

2003 - Andrzej Dłużniewski

2004 - Krzysztof M. Bednarski

2005 - Teresa Murak

2006 - Krzysztof Wodiczko

2007 - Jerzy Lewczyński

2008 - Zbigniew Rybczyński

2009 - Andrzej Lachowicz

2011 - Zygmunt Rytka

2012 - Natalia LL

2013 - Cezary Bodzianowski

2014 - Robert Rumas

2015 - Jadwiga Sawicka

2016 – Karolina Wiktor

2017 – Piotr Bosacki


The idea for the annual award came from Professor Józef Robakowski. Initially, the prize was awarded privately at Galeria Wschodnia. Since 2011, the event has been organized by the Muzeum Sztuki in Łódź, and its curator is Maria Morzuch.


The 2018 sponsor of the Katarzyna Kobro Award is Rossmann Ltd, the chain of drugstore and cosmetics supermarkets.





Pursuant to Art. 173 of the Act of Telecommunications Law we would like to inform you that by continuing to browse this webpage you agree to save on your computer the so-called cookies. Cookies enable us to store information on the webpage viewership. If you do not give your consent to saving them, change the settings of your browser. More about the privacy policy.