Katarzyna Kobro Award for Piotr Bosacki

Wednesday, the 5th December 2018, witnessed the 16th ceremony of presenting Katarzyna Kobro Award. The idea of the prize, which is awarded by artists to artists, was to honour and appreciate progressive and innovative attitudes of artists. Piotr Bosacki is the laureate of the Award for 2017.

The justification of the decision made by the jury whose members were: Katarzyna Kozyra (Chairperson), Aleksandra Chciuk, Izabela Gustowska, Katarzyna Józefowicz reads as follows:

“Piotr Bosacki is a versatile artist. We see him in different roles of a constructor, composer, poet, and a filmmaker. In animated movies, so typical of him, filled with powerful narration, there is philosophical reflection valuable in itself as high quality literary input. On top of that, Bosacki is a consistently inconsistent artist. He combines seriousness with humour, sensuality with abstraction, minimalism with the richness of form. Irrespectively of whether he makes a film, a sculpture or draws, he is like a theoretician boiling the world down to aphorisms.

We would like to honour Piotr Bosacki with Katarzyna Kobro Award for his outstanding sense of language and poetry.”

Piotr Bosacki (born 1977) – an artists active on the borderline of a number of disciplines: music, art, animation, and literature; holds secondary education diploma in fine arts and music; between 1999 and 2004 student of the Academy of Fine Arts in Poznan, where he currently lectures at the Department of Multi-Media Communication. Member of an informal art group Penerstwo and Wojtek Bąkowski  group  KOT (ceased to exist in 2011).

Katarzyna Kobro Award

The following artists have so far been honoured with Katarzyna Kobro Award:

2001 - Zbigniew Dłubak

2002 - Jürgen Blum-Kwiatkowski

2003 - Andrzej Dłużniewski

2004 - Krzysztof M. Bednarski

2005 - Teresa Murak

2006 - Krzysztof Wodiczko

2007 - Jerzy Lewczyński

2008 - Zbigniew Rybczyński

2009 - Andrzej Lachowicz

2011 - Zygmunt Rytka

2012 - Natalia LL

2013 - Cezary Bodzianowski

2014 - Robert Rumas

2015 - Jadwiga Sawicka

2016 – Karolina Wiktor

Professor Józef Robakowski is the originator of the idea of annual Katarzyna Kobro Award. Initially, the Award was granted privately at Galeria Wschodnia gallery. Since 2011 Muzeum Sztuki in Łódź has been the official organiser of the event.

Curator: Maria Morzuch

The Patron of the Muzeum Sztuki in Łódź

Katarzyna Kobro Award for 2017 is sponsored by Rossmann Supermarkety Drogeryjne Polska Sp. z o.o.



Pursuant to Art. 173 of the Act of Telecommunications Law we would like to inform you that by continuing to browse this webpage you agree to save on your computer the so-called cookies. Cookies enable us to store information on the webpage viewership. If you do not give your consent to saving them, change the settings of your browser. More about the privacy policy.