Jadwiga Sawicka honoured with the 2015 Katarzyna Kobro Award

Friday (14th October) witnessed the 14th ceremony of the presentation of the Katarzyna Kobro Award, meant to honour progressive and innovative artists. The 2015 laureate is Jadwiga Sawicka.

As it was stressed in the award justification, this distinction was granted to the laureate ‘for her art, the very essence of which lies exactly in the concept. For simple cross-generation, multilayered, emotive and rebellious message’. Paraphrasing her own words, one should say that Sawicka ‘tames, converts and  trains’ and - as usual - produces an effect, yet a perverse one.

Upon presentation of the diploma, Jadwiga Sawicka admitted: - It is the only award I have always wanted to earn; because of its patron, originators and initiators, because of the earlier laureates. I have observed the list of laureates with growing admiration (...) and because of the Institution granting the award, This [Muzeum Sztuki in Łódź - editor’s note] is one of the most important spots on the map of Polish art. I suspect that nothing better will ever happen to me - she added with a smile.

The artist was born on 14th January 1959 in Przemyśl. She studied at the Faculty of Painting of the Academy of Fine Arts in Krakow, under supervision of Jerzy Nowosielski. She creates paintings, photographs, objects, textual installations, referring to mass culture.  She is particularly recognizable for her ‘written’ painting.

In the 1990s Sawicka used to paint small pictures using pieces of clothing and cosmetics with made-up advertising slogans affixed to them. By the end of the 20th century she created large-format pictures from texts.

Muzeum Sztuki in Łódź has organised a number of exhibitions with Jadwiga Sawicka’s participation: ‘Photo Images - Plastic Gesture in Photography’ (2006), ‘Eyes Looking for a Head to Inhabit’ (2011), ‘Correspondence. Modern Art and Universalism (2012), ‘For Encouragement to Museum. Collection of the Łódź ‘Association for the Encouragement of Fine Arts (2013).

Katarzyna Kobro Award

Professor Józef Robakowski (together with Nika Strzemińska, Katarzyna Kobro’s and Władysław Strzemiński’s daughter) is the originator of the idea of annual Katarzyna Kobro Award. Originally the Award was granted privately at Galeria Wschodnia, and since 2011 the event has been organised by Muzeum Sztuki in Łódź

Former laureates of the Katarzyna Kobro Award:

2001 - Zbigniew Dłubak
2002 - Jürgen Blum – Kwiatkowski
2003 - Andrzej Dłużniewski
2004 - Krzysztof M. Bednarski
2005 - Teresa Murak
2006 - Krzysztof Wodiczko
2007 - Jerzy Lewczyński
2008 - Zbigniew Rybczyński
2009 - Andrzej Lachowicz
2011 - Zygmunt Rytka
2012 - Natalia LL
2013 - Cezary Bodzianowski
2014 – Robert Rumas

The Laureate of the 2015 Award was chosen by the Jury, composed of: Ewa Zarzycka (President), Marta Bosowska, Przemysław Branas, and Jerzy Grzegorski.

Curator: Maria Morzuch

This year’s Award is sponsored by the Polish Guild of Gutenberg's Knights.

Pursuant to Art. 173 of the Act of Telecommunications Law we would like to inform you that by continuing to browse this webpage you agree to save on your computer the so-called cookies. Cookies enable us to store information on the webpage viewership. If you do not give your consent to saving them, change the settings of your browser. More about the privacy policy.